Goldsboromuseum.com - Home of the Goldsboro Historical Museum of Sanford, Florida
THE RICH HISTORY OF GOLDSBORO
 
The West Sanford community of Goldsboro, which at the turn of the 21st century, is home to more than 4,000 people.  Mr. William Clark was a store owner and a black business man. He got with 19 other black registered voter's and on December 1, 1891 Incorporated the town of Goldsboro which was the second black Incorporated City in the State of Florida. It became a town incorporated by black citizens. Goldsboro was employed by nearby railroad yards where thousands of carloads of citrus and celery were loaded for the markets in the North. Other's worked in the field, groves, icehouse and produce houses.
 
FIRST ELECTED OFFICIAL'S: Mayor: Walter Williams, Aldermen: David Wilson, A.T. Shepard, J.A. Williams, E.C. Caroline and Mr. Hubbard, Clerk: J.W. Small, Marshal: WM. Clark. Treasurer: Joseph White, Tax Assessor: J.W. Small and Tax Collector: W.M. Clark.
 
A year later the school was opened with Katie Stubbins as Teacher. The first Post Master was John Wesley Small. The first church was Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church.
 
The town of Goldsboro prevented Sanford from expanding it's boundaries to the West. On April 6, 1911 the City of Sanford passed a resolution of it's intent to absorb Goldsboro despite pleas from Goldsboro City Officials in The Sanford Herald. The State Legislature voted to revoke the Incorporation so on April 6, 1911 Goldsboro became apart of Sanford.
 
Community leader's are remembered through the naming of Sanford Housing Authority Complexes named William Clark Court which is no longer in operation. Mr. William Clark is recognized as the merchant and home builder most responsible for the early development of Goldsboro.
 
A special thank you to the Founder Mrs. Francis Oliver and The Goldsboro Westside Historical Association for The Goldsboro Westside Community Museum which is keeping the History of our ancestor's experience alive and sharing it with not only our Community and the City of Sanford but to the world at large.
 
By Cindy I. Philemon Museum/Welcome Center Journalist
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint